Registration fees are due at the time of registration. Students are not enrolled until all registration fees are paid. Registration fees are indicated at the end of each course listing and are subject to change. For more detailed information on registration fees, click here. Students are responsible for buying supplies and materials as necessary. Books are usually available through the College Bookstore.
Computer Use and Technology Fee
The registration fee for continuing education computer classes includes a $5 computer use and technology fee. This fee is required of all students enrolled in continuing education computer classes, and is not refundable.
Some courses require accident insurance while in class. For these courses, the $1.30 insurance fee is included in the registration fee and is required of all participants. This fee is subject to change.
Senior Citizens Please Note
As set forth in Chapter 115D=5 of the General Statutes, full-time North Carolina residents 65 years of age or older will be exempt from the registration fees for Occupational Extension courses. There are no senior exemptions for Self-Supporting (SEF) or Community Enrichment (SCP) courses. With notice from the North Carolina General Assembly, this policy is subject to change.
Students who take an occupational extension course more than twice within a five year period will be charged the actual cost of the course, currently $6.18 per classroom hour. This fee is subject to change. Students may repeat occupational extension courses more than once if repetitions are required for certification, licensure, or recertification.
Pursuant to the North Carolina Administrative Code Title 23, Chapter 2(D) Section, 0203(d), the college shall refund registration fees under the following circumstances:
1. If a student officially withdraws from the class prior to the first class session the student will receive a 100% refund. NOTE: Official withdrawal requires written notification received by the Continuing Education Office prior to the first class session. You may drop electronically using the college's electronic drop card [need a link here].
2. If a class is canceled due to insufficient enrollment, the student will receive a 100% refund.
3. After a class begins and a student officially withdraws from the class prior to or on the 10% point of the scheduled class hours, the student will receive a 75% refund. NOTE: For most classes, the 10% point is the first class session. Written notification must be received by the Continuing Education Office on the 10% date or 1st class session. Insurance Fees and Computer Use and Technology Fees are non-refundable.
Provision of social security number is voluntary, requested solely for administrative convenience and record-keeping accuracy, and is requested only to provide a personal identifier for the internal records of Blue Ridge Community College.
The Disability Services Office assists students with disabilities in accessing their academic programs. Individuals with disabilities (as defined in the Americans with Disabilities Act) wishing to make a request for reasonable accommodation or wishing to file a complaint of alleged discrimination on the basis of disability should contact the Disability Services Office located in Room 127 of the Sink Building. It is the student's responsibility to request services from this office. Current documentation of the disability by an appropriate professional will be required. All information will be kept confidential. Students will be required to sign a release of information form before any special contact is made to arrange accommodations. Requests for reasonable accommodation should be made several weeks in advance to allow sufficient time for accommodations to be arranged. For more information on disability services, please call 828-694-1813.
For more information, please call 828-694-1737, or email .