Tuition and fees paid by students do not represent the total operating expenses of the College. The balance is provided by local, state, and federal tax funds.
Tuition and fees must be paid in full or deferred through the College tuition payment plan by the published tuition payment deadline or the student's schedule will be deleted. North Carolina residents at least 65 years of age are exempt from tuition for the first 6 credit hours taken. Each credit hour above 6 will be billed at the current tuition rate. High school students at least 16 years of age who are enrolled at least half-time in high school courses are exempt from tuition for select courses. However, all students are required to pay the student accident insurance fee, the technology fee, and the activity fee. If high school students are enrolled in Blue Ridge Community College courses offered on a high school campus, the student accident insurance fee, the activity fee, and the technology fee may be waived. The student accident insurance fee and the activity fee may also be waived for the distance learning student who does not attend the Blue Ridge Community College campus. However, it is the responsibility of the student to notify the business office of the high school or distance learning status at the time charges are paid.
Deferred Payment Plan
The College offers a deferred payment plan for curriculum students. The amount of tuition and fees that can be deferred is determined by the amount due and deferred payment plan enrollment date. Enrollment and service fees may apply. The Deferred Payment Plan is not available for summer term. Information is available from the Division of Finance and Operations or faculty advisors.
Residency for Tuition
Under North Carolina law, a person must qualify as a resident for a curriculum tuition rate lower than that for non-residents. North Carolina statute 116-143.1 requires that "To qualify as a resident for tuition purposes, a person must have established legal residence (domicile) in North Carolina and maintained that legal residence for at least twelve (12) months immediately prior to his or her classification as a resident for tuition purposes." Substantial inquiry is made on the application for admission to determine initial classification.
New applicants and returning students classified as out-of-state for tuition purposes are responsible for submitting the North Carolina Residence and Tuition Status Application to the admissions office for reclassification to in-state status. Applications are available at the Student Services receptionist desk in the Sink building. Individuals are encouraged to submit the application as early as possible. The admissions office will review the application, make a determination as to the individual's residency/non-residency status, and then will advise the individual of the decision. The change in classification, if deemed to be warranted, shall be effective at the beginning of the next academic semester following the reclassification. Applications received less than two (2) weeks prior to registration for a semester may result in a delay in reclassification until the following academic semester.
Students who provide false residency information or knowingly withhold residency information shall be deemed to have submitted a fraudulent application. Students making fraudulent application are subject to reclassification and payment of the difference between out-of-state and in-state tuition for the enrolled term(s) intervening between the fraudulent application and its discovery.
Regulations concerning the classification of students by residence are set forth in "A Manual to Assist the Public Higher Education Institutions of North Carolina in the Matter of Student Residence Classification for Tuition Purposes.'' A copy of the manual is available in Student Services for student inspection.
Fulfillment of Financial Obligations
Students are responsible for any and all amounts due on their account. Continuing Education students must pay all required course fees or provide an authorization letter for sponsor payment at the time of registration for the course. Curriculum students must pay all tuition and fees in full, officially enroll in the Deferred Payment Plan (Fall and Spring semesters only), have pending financial aid showing on their account, or provide an authorization letter for sponsor payment by the payment deadlines published for each semester. Curriculum students are considered to have a past due balance if a balance is still due on their account after the published payment deadline or on the last day of academic semester for which the charges are incurred. This balance could have resulted from failure to adhere to the conditions of the Deferred Payment Plan, financial aid was reduced or revoked, or a sponsor declined payment for any reason. Failure to pay any past due balance in full may result in:
- Unable to register for any classes
- Unable to receive grades or official transcripts
- Account may be turned over to the North Carolina Department of Revenue or North Carolina Attorney General's Office for collection
- Account may be turned over to a collection agency where credit could be adversely affected
Attempts are made during the semester for collection through billing statements that are to be mailed for all outstanding accounts. Past due accounts will have a second notice mailed at the end of the semester. If no collection is made within 30 days of the second notice, a third and final personal letter will be sent. The letter will detail the date, purpose and amount of the debt as well as advise the student of the State policy regarding grades, transcripts and registration for future classes. If the above procedure fails within 30 days the following collection options are available to the college based on the amount past due:
- Any account over sixty (60) days past due may be turned over to the NC Department of Revenue, Set-Off Debt Unit, to collect from your NC State Tax Refund until your account is paid in full. This is in accordance with G.S. Chapter 105A of the North Carolina General Statutes, Set-Off Debt Collection Act.
- Any account over sixty (60) days past due may be turned over to the NC Attorney General's Office, Collection Section where legal action may be taken to collect the outstanding debt.
- Any account over sixty (60) days past due may be turned over to a collection agency where credit may be adversely affected. Once the account has been submitted to a Collection Agency, payment must be remitted to them directly.
Payment plans and/or other payment arrangements are not available to past due accounts.
Tuition Refund Policy,
Title 23 of the N.C. Administrative Code, 2d.0200, states that a 100% refund of tuition shall be made if the student officially withdraws prior to the first day of classes of the semester as noted in the college calendar. Also, a student is eligible for a 100% refund if the class in which the student is registered is canceled. A 75% refund of tuition may be made if the student officially withdraws from the class(es) after the class(es) begins but prior to or on the official 10% point of the semester. Students must contact their instructor or the appropriate dean to officially withdraw from a class after the academic semester begins. The student's signature is required on the drop card.
Refunds for official withdrawals from classes beginning later in the semester than the scheduled date in the academic calendar (e.g., telecourse and second session classes) are as follows: 100% if officially withdrawn before the first day the class meets; 75% if officially withdrawn prior to or on the 10% point of class. Student fees are not refundable. Questions about the College tuition refund policy should be directed to the Vice President for Student Services. Requests for refunds will not be considered after the 10% point. Refunds will be made by check to the student if the payment was made by cash or check. If payment was made by credit or debit card, refunds will be made to the card used. Refunds will be written at the earliest date following the 10% point of the semester, as determined by the Division of Finance and Operations.
Federal regulations require a refund calculation for all students receiving Title IV funds who officially withdraw from the semester on or before the 60% point in semester. Students earn a portion of the Title IV funds on a ratio of number of calendar days attended and the number of calendar days in the term. Unearned federal aid will be returned in the following order: Federal Direct Loan, Federal PLUS Loan, Pell Grant, and SEOG. NC monies will be returned according to state regulations. Institutional and outside scholarships will be fully applied to the student's account, unless otherwise restricted.
If there is a student account balance resulting from these adjustments, the student is responsible for payment.