Dr. David Stegall shakes the hand of PTK inductee Evelyn Angeles Alarcon.

Blue Ridge Community College Phi Theta Kappa Chapter Inducts New Members

Featured photo: Dr. David Stegall shakes the hand of Phi Theta Kappa inductee Evelyn Angeles Alarcon. (Rich Keen, Marketing and Communications Dept.)

Marketing and Communications Dept.

The Blue Ridge Community College chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, Alpha Rho Upsilon, honored its newest members during the annual induction ceremony on Thursday, April 13.

The organization inducted nine members during the event hosted in the College’s Steven D. Wyatt Auditorium in the Henderson County Campus’ Patton Building.

PTK inductees following stand on stage during the induction.

Dr. David Stegall, Blue Ridge chief of staff, welcomed the inductees and attendees with words of encouragement.

“We are extremely proud of the leadership, scholarship and excellence that tonight’s honorees exhibit,” he said. “Your achievements are to be celebrated.”

Phi Theta Kappa is the official honor society of two-year colleges, as named by the American Association of Community Colleges. Members of the prestigious academic organization maintain academic requirements, including a minimum grade point average of 3.5. According to Phi Theta Kappa, members are three times more likely to complete an associate degree and/or transfer to a four-year college. Learn more about the honor society at www.ptk.org.

The April 2023 inductees included:

Henderson County
Evelyn Angeles Alarcon
Olivia Giacomaro
Jaylin Looney
Casey McCraw
Ryan Paitsel
Emely Chavez Rosa

Buncombe County
Julia Greer
Alexandra Whitaker

Rutherford County
Benjamin Clay

For more information about Phi Theta Kappa, visit www.blueridge.edu/ptk y www.ptk.org.