The members of the Blue Ridge Community College Board of Trustees are appointed for four-year terms by various government agencies to provide a balanced representation of the people served by the College. This Board provides oversight for the operation of the College and the administration of local and state policies and statutes. The Board is also responsible for the stewardship of the College’s physical resources and property.

Meeting Schedule

The Board’s regular meetings take place on the second Monday of January, March, May, July, September, and November. View 2023-2024 calendar of meetings here. All meetings may be subject to change. Changes will be updated on this page at least 48 hours prior to the meeting. Local media requesting an annual meeting schedule in June must request this information annually by contacting

2023-2024 Meeting Calendar Changes

  • February 26, 2024, Facilities and Finance Joint Committees meeting has been cancelled. Updated: Jan. 16, 2024
  • February 13, 2024, Executive Committee meeting has been cancelled. Updated: Jan. 12, 2024
  • March 11, 2024, Board of Trustees meeting has been rescheduled for March 4, 2024. Updated: Jan. 11, 2024
  • December 18, 2023, Facilities Committee Special Called meeting has been scheduled. The Committee will meet at 2:30 p.m. in the Patton Building, Room #120, on the Flat Rock Campus. Updated: Dec. 15, 2023
  • April 23, 2024, President’s Evaluation Committee meeting has been rescheduled for April 3, 2024. The Committee will enter Closed Session immediately after the Call to Order. Updated: Nov. 17, 2023
  • November 1, 2023, Curriculum Committee meeting has been cancelled. Updated: Nov. 1, 2023
  • October 31, 2023, Executive Committee CLOSED Session meeting 2:30 p.m., Patton Building Room #120. Updated: Oct. 25, 2023
  • October 30, 2023, Special Called Board meeting 9 a.m., Patton Building Room #120. Updated Oct. 26, 2023 
  • August 22, 2023, Executive Committee meeting has been cancelled. Updated: July 18, 2023

Contact Information for the Board of Trustees

180 West Campus Drive, Flat Rock, NC 28731

Appointed by the Governor

Board of Trustees Vivian Bolanos portrait
Ms. Vivian A. Bolaños
Board of Trustees Clay Eddleman portrait
Dr. H. Clay Eddleman
Board of Trustees Mike Hawkins portrait
Mr. Mike Hawkins
Board of Trustees Al Platt
Mr. Alfred F. Platt, Jr.

Appointed by Henderson County Commissioners

Board of Trustees Chip Gould portrait
Mr. John B. “Chip” Gould, Chairman
Mr. Nathan R. Kennedy
Board of Trustees Kelly Leonard portrait
Mr. P. Kelly Leonard,
Vice Chairman

Appointed by Transylvania County Commissioners

Mr. Brian S. Traylor
Board of Trustees Brian Weaver portrait
Dr. Brian I. Weaver

Appointed by Henderson County Board of Public Education

Board of Trustees Cathy Childress portrait
Mrs. Catherine P. Childress
Board of Trustees Jan King portrait
Dr. Janice C. King
Board of Trustees Betty Gash portrait
Ms. Betty A. Gash
Board of Trustees Mike Pressley portrait
Mr. Michael H. Pressley

Blue Ridge Community College President

Board of Trustees College President Dr. Laura Leatherwood portrait
Dr. Laura B. Leatherwood

Student Government Association President

Ex-officio, non-voting

2024 Agendas and Minutes