Blue Ridge Community College Welcomes New Trustees


BRCC News | Published April 15, 2019

Blue Ridge Community College is pleased to welcome two new members to the Board of Trustees. Vivian Bolaños, appointed by the Governor of North Carolina, was sworn in in March. Michael Pressley, appointed by the Henderson County Board of Public Education, will fill the unexpired term of Patricia Jones who passed away in February.


 Vivian Bolaños     Mike Pressley

Bolaños is a resident of Hendersonville and is the Business Development Officer with First Bank. She is a graduate of the University of Cuenca and currently serves on the Board of Directors for United Way of Henderson County, Safelight, and Pardee UNC Health Care. Bolaños’ term expires on June 30, 2022.
Pressley, a resident of Edneyville, is a retired US Navy Reservist and served many years as a teacher and principal for Henderson County Public Schools before his retirement. He is a volunteer and former board member of Historic Johnson Farm. Pressley’s term expires on June 30, 2019. 

Fourteen Trustees serve Blue Ridge Community College, all of whom are appointed: four by the Governor of North Carolina, four by the Henderson County Board of Commissioners, four by the Henderson County Board of Public Education, and two by the Transylvania County Commissioners. Trustees establish policy for Blue Ridge Community College, approve the annual budget, and serve as advocates for the College and its services.


Other Trustees currently serving are Steven R. Dozier; Betty A. Gash; Jeremy R. Gibbs, Vice Chair; John B. "Chip" Gould, Chair; Joshua M. Hallingse; Nathan R. Kennedy; P. Kelly Leonard; John C. McCormick, Jr.; William W. Ramsey; Kathy G. Revis; Susan H. Robinson; and Richard G. "Duke" Woodhull, Jr. Blue Ridge Community College Student Government Association President Lilly Blankenship serves as an ex-officio member of the Board.