Man and woman holding awards

Blue Ridge Community College honors Basic Law Enforcement Academy graduates

Blue Ridge Community College’s BLET Academy hosted a pinning ceremony for its Spring 2020 graduates on Wednesday, May 27 in the College’s Thomas Auditorium.

The list of graduates included:
Christopher Billy Cobb
Istel Sofia Contreras
Robert John Coon
Skylynn Ann Corbin
James Corey Gravley
Alyviah Faith Holland
Charles Edward Odom, II
Nicholas David Sansoucy
Jordan Tanner Strickland
Hannah Frances Weatherall
John Travis Wheeler
Brandon Paul Whitfield

The ceremony included a keynote from Fletcher Police Chief Erik Summey, presentation of class awards, remarks by class representative Hannah Weatherall and an awarding of certificates.

Christopher Billy Cobb was the recipient of the Informal Leader Award while Hannah Frances Weatherall was the recipient of the Top Academic Award. Both were presented by Pat Staggs, BLET Instructional Specialist.

Blue Ridge President Dr. Laura Leatherwood also took the time to thank numerous local agencies for their continued support throughout the years. This support includes hiring students, providing instructors and serving on advisory boards.

These agencies included: Henderson County Sheriff’s Office, Transylvania County Sheriff’s Office, Hendersonville Police Department, Brevard Police Department, Fletcher Police Department, Laurel Park Police Department and the Blue Ridge Community College Police Department.